1Z0-771 logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

1Z0-771 Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • Oracle does not publish a population pass rate for 1Z0-771; any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
  • The published passing score is 68% on 50 multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes.
  • The 19 official exam domains carry no published weights, so no domain can be called "highest-weighted."
  • The exam is proctored online through Oracle MyLearn; US$245 buys a six-month Oracle Technology Exam Subscription attempt.

What "Pass Rate" Actually Means for This Exam

Search for the Oracle APEX Cloud Developer Professional pass rate and you will find confident-sounding figures on exam-dump sites, forums, and prep vendors. This article takes a different approach: it separates what Oracle has actually published about the Oracle APEX Cloud Developer Professional (1Z0-771) exam from what third parties assert, so you can plan your preparation on solid ground.

The short version: no verified population pass rate exists in Oracle's public sources. Oracle University administers the certification, and the official exam page lists the format, the passing score, and the objective headings, but not the share of candidates who pass. If you are new to the credential itself, start with What Is 1Z0-771? for the exam's identity and scope before reading further.

Why this matters: A pass rate is a statement about a population of test-takers. Without Oracle publishing candidate outcomes, any figure is either a guess, a marketing claim, or a small self-selected survey. Treat it accordingly.

What Oracle Publishes, and What It Doesn't

The official exam page on Oracle MyLearn gives a limited but useful set of facts. Here is what is confirmed versus what remains undisclosed.

ItemStatusDetail
Number of questionsPublished50 multiple-choice questions
DurationPublished90 minutes
Passing scorePublished68%
DeliveryPublishedProctored online via Oracle University / Oracle MyLearn
Price (U.S. store)PublishedUS$245 for one Oracle Technology Exam Subscription attempt, six-month subscription term
Domain weightsNot published19 objective headings, no percentages
Scored vs. unscored itemsNot disclosedSplit between scored and unscored questions is not stated
Population pass rateNot publishedNo candidate-outcome statistics in checked official sources
Credential validity periodNot establishedNo APEX-specific renewal rule verified

Notice what is missing: any number describing how often candidates succeed. For a deeper look at the published numbers that do exist, see 1Z0-771 Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Why Third-Party Numbers Conflict

Public guides disagree with each other, and with Oracle, on basic facts. Some claim 55 questions; Oracle's page says 50. Some cite a 60% passing mark; Oracle's page says 68%. Some name Pearson or PSI as the testing provider; Oracle's page identifies Oracle University through MyLearn. Some assert multi-year validity, others say indefinite, and none of these claims is established by the issuer for this exam.

There are several recurring reasons these discrepancies appear:

  • Code confusion. The "1Z0-771" label has been used by other Oracle exams in the past, and some guides blend content from different credentials. Always confirm that a source describes Oracle APEX Cloud Developer Professional specifically.
  • Neighboring exam mixing. Some courses bundle 1Z0-770 and 1Z0-771 under a single title, which blurs which facts belong to which exam.
  • Version drift. Resources reference APEX 23.2 in some places and 24.2 in others. Oracle's learning-path blog (displayed date 19 June 2025) identifies the exam as validated on Oracle APEX 24.2.
  • Commercial incentive. Vendors selling question banks benefit from implying either that the exam is easy (to sell confidence) or that it is brutal (to sell urgency). Neither claim is backed by Oracle data.
A practical rule: If a site gives you a pass rate, a domain percentage, or a "guaranteed pass" claim without citing Oracle, treat it as marketing. The only verified numbers are the ones on Oracle's own exam page.

Passing Score vs. Pass Rate: Two Different Numbers

These two terms get conflated constantly, so it helps to be precise.

  • Passing score (68%) is the threshold you must reach on your attempt. It is a property of the exam, and Oracle publishes it.
  • Pass rate is the fraction of all candidates who clear that threshold. It is a property of the candidate population, and Oracle has not published it for this exam.

A 68% cut score on 50 questions means roughly 34 correct answers is the target, though because the split between scored and unscored questions is undisclosed, you should not assume all 50 items count toward your result. Aim well above the minimum on every practice session rather than trying to calculate a razor-thin margin. Our passing score breakdown goes further on how to interpret the threshold.

Difficulty Signals You Can Verify

Since a pass rate is unavailable, what can you use to judge difficulty? Look at verifiable structural features of the exam rather than anecdotes.

Format Is Forgiving, Content Breadth Is Not

The exam is multiple choice, which removes the risk of free-form or lab-based tasks. But it spans 19 official domains, from SQL Workshop to Progressive Web Apps, and Oracle does not tell you which carry more weight. That breadth is the main difficulty driver. For a fuller treatment, read How Hard Is the 1Z0-771 Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Experience Is Recommended, Not Mandated

The current exam page marks recommended training as optional and recommends Oracle training plus hands-on experience. It lists no quantified mandatory education, experience hours, training hours, or references. One older Oracle blog describes two courses as prerequisites and later as recommended training; because the current exam page explicitly says optional, that wording takes precedence. See 1Z0-771 Requirements 2026 for the full eligibility picture.

The Content Evolves With APEX

The inclusion of domains such as Managing Workflows and Tasks and Leveraging Generative AI in Oracle APEX shows the exam tracks recent platform features. Candidates relying on materials written for older APEX releases may encounter unfamiliar topics. No separately dated 2026 blueprint has been verified, so anchor your study to the current official objectives and APEX 24.2 behavior.

Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Lose Points

Because Oracle does not publish domain weights, you cannot rank domains by exam value. You can reason about where hands-on gaps typically hurt. The following groupings are editorial judgment about preparation risk, not official weighting. For the complete list, see 1Z0-771 Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 19 Content Areas.

Domains That Reward Hands-On Building

These areas are best learned by actually constructing application pieces in an APEX workspace, because multiple-choice questions often probe how components behave together.

  • Developing Reports and Creating and Using Forms: know the differences between report types, how forms bind to tables, and what the page processes do.
  • Adding Computations, Processes, Validations and Branches: understand execution order and the points in the page lifecycle where each runs.
  • Creating and Using Dynamic Actions and Plug-ins: be comfortable with events, true/false actions, and client-side versus server-side behavior.

Domains That Reward Conceptual Precision

These topics involve terminology and platform concepts where a half-remembered definition leads to a wrong answer.

  • Implementing Security in your Application: authentication versus authorization, authorization schemes, and session-related concepts.
  • Managing Application Data and Using SQL Workshop: how data is loaded, queried, and managed within the workspace.
  • Migrating Application Development Between Environments: export/import mechanics and what moves with an application.

Newer-Feature Domains Worth Early Attention

Because these reflect recent platform additions, third-party materials are likelier to be thin or dated.

  • Managing Workflows and Tasks: build a simple workflow and a human task in a sandbox, not just read about them.
  • Leveraging Generative AI in Oracle APEX: understand how AI services are configured and used inside an app.
  • Creating Progressive Web Apps: know what makes an APEX app installable and what the PWA settings control.

The remaining headings, namely Getting Started with Oracle APEX on the Oracle Autonomous Database, Creating an APEX Application, Managing Pages and Regions, Creating Application Page Controls, Implementing Navigation in your Application, Using Themes and Theme Styles, Extending Application Capabilities, and Adding Additional Pages to your Application, are foundational. Skipping them because they seem basic is a classic way to drop easy points.

Exam-Day Logistics That Affect Your Result

Some candidates who fail do so for reasons unrelated to knowledge. The delivery format is proctored online, and the requirements are strict. Per Oracle's exam preparation instructions:

  • You need a personal computer with reliable internet, a webcam, and a microphone.
  • A government-issued ID must match your registration details.
  • You must be in a private, quiet room, with check-in starting 30 minutes early.
  • No books or reference materials, mobile devices, headphones, or virtual backgrounds are allowed.
  • Pen and paper are prohibited; Oracle provides a digital whiteboard instead.
  • Outside assistance is prohibited.

Cancellation or rescheduling must occur at least 24 hours before your appointment. Practice using an on-screen whiteboard beforehand if you normally work through problems on paper, because that habit will be unavailable. For scheduling mechanics, see 1Z0-771 Exam Dates 2026.

Key Takeaway

Do a full system and environment check well before your appointment, and rehearse the exam under the same constraints: no notes, no second device, no paper. Avoidable logistics problems are among the few failure causes entirely within your control.

A Domain-Sequenced Preparation Plan

Since pass-rate statistics cannot guide you, let the domain structure guide you. The sequence below front-loads foundational build skills, then moves into logic, security, and the newest features. Adjust the pace to your experience; this is a scaffold, not an official schedule. For a longer methodology, see the 1Z0-771 Study Guide 2026.

Week 1

Environment and Data Foundations

  • Set up an APEX workspace on an Autonomous Database (Domain 1).
  • Work through SQL Workshop: object browsing, scripts, and queries (Domain 2).
  • Create a basic application and explore its structure (Domain 3).
Week 2

Pages, Reports, and Forms

  • Build pages and regions (Domain 4), then reports (Domain 5) and forms (Domain 6).
  • Add page controls and items (Domain 7).
Week 3

Logic, Navigation, and Data

  • Practice computations, processes, validations, and branches (Domain 8).
  • Implement navigation (Domain 9) and manage application data (Domain 10).
  • Apply themes and theme styles (Domain 11).
Week 4

Extension, Security, and Interactivity

  • Extend application capabilities (Domain 12) and add additional pages (Domain 14).
  • Implement security (Domain 13).
  • Build dynamic actions and explore plug-ins (Domain 15).
Week 5

Newer Features and Full Review

  • Practice environment migration (Domain 16), workflows and tasks (Domain 17), Generative AI (Domain 18), and Progressive Web Apps (Domain 19).
  • Take timed practice exams at 50 questions in 90 minutes and review every miss.

When you reach the review stage, use realistic questions to expose weak domains. Our 1Z0-771 practice tests let you rehearse the multiple-choice format under timed conditions, and the 1Z0-771 Cheat Sheet condenses the facts worth memorizing the night before.

Retakes, Subscriptions, and Outdated Offers

Cost and retake behavior shape how risky a first attempt feels. The published U.S. price is US$245 for one Oracle Technology Exam Subscription attempt, with a six-month subscription term, and Oracle's U.S. store explicitly includes Oracle APEX. Keep in mind:

  • An exact-code checkout total, taxes, and separate member or nonmember rates were not verified, so confirm the final amount at purchase.
  • The subscription term is not the same as credential validity.
  • Oracle's earlier free first-attempt offer ended 15 May 2025 and is not current pricing. Older forum threads about free retakes reflect that expired promotion, so do not plan around them.

Full pricing context is in 1Z0-771 Certification Cost 2026. If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, see Is the 1Z0-771 Certification Worth It?. Role-based salary pages exist for Oracle APEX developers, but no verified evidence shows that this certification alone produces a pay increase, so treat salary as a function of skills and role rather than the credential in isolation.

On the archived course notice: Oracle's "Oracle APEX Developer Professional" course page displays a 30 October 2026 course-archive notice. That affects a training course, not the exam. It does not by itself establish that 1Z0-771 is being retired.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the pass rate for the 1Z0-771 exam?

Oracle has not published a population pass rate for Oracle APEX Cloud Developer Professional (1Z0-771) in the checked official sources. Any specific percentage you see elsewhere is unverified. What Oracle does publish is the passing score of 68%.

Is the passing score the same as the pass rate?

No. The passing score (68%) is the threshold you must reach on your own attempt, while the pass rate would describe the share of all candidates who succeed. Oracle publishes the first but not the second.

How many questions and how much time does the exam give you?

The exam has 50 multiple-choice questions and a written duration of 90 minutes. Oracle does not disclose how many of those questions are scored versus unscored.

Which exam domain is weighted most heavily?

That cannot be determined. Oracle lists 19 objective headings but does not publish percentage weights, so any claim about a highest-weighted domain is not backed by the issuer. Prepare across all 19 areas.

Do I need prior training or experience before booking?

The current exam page marks recommended training as optional and recommends Oracle training plus hands-on experience. It lists no quantified mandatory education, experience hours, or training hours. Practical APEX 24.2 building experience is still the strongest preparation, as covered in the 1Z0-771 training overview.

The most reliable way to approach this exam is to ignore unverifiable pass-rate claims, rely on Oracle's published format and objectives, and build real APEX applications across all 19 domains until the behavior of each component feels routine.

Ready to pass your 1Z0-771 exam?

Put this into practice with free 1Z0-771 questions across every exam domain.