- What 1Z0-771 Actually Is
- Why the Code Causes Confusion
- Exam Format and Logistics at a Glance
- What the Exam Covers: The 19 Official Topics
- Which APEX Version Matters
- Registering, Paying and Sitting the Exam
- Who Should Take It and Who Hires for the Skills
- A Domain-Based Preparation Sequence
- What Oracle Has Not Published
- Frequently Asked Questions
- 1Z0-771 is Oracle's Oracle APEX Cloud Developer Professional exam, administered through Oracle University and MyLearn.
- The exam has 50 multiple-choice questions, a 90-minute limit and a 68% passing score.
- Oracle lists 19 unweighted topic headings, so no domain can honestly be called the heaviest.
- The U.S. exam subscription is listed at US$245 for one attempt over a six-month term.
What 1Z0-771 Actually Is
1Z0-771 is the exam code for the Oracle APEX Cloud Developer Professional certification, issued by Oracle Corporation and administered through Oracle University. It validates that you can build, secure and deploy data-driven web applications with Oracle APEX (Application Express), Oracle's low-code development platform that runs inside the Oracle Database, including the Autonomous Database in Oracle Cloud.
The exam page uses the associated-award wording "Oracle APEX Cloud Certified Developer Professional." In practice, people use the exam code, the credential title and the award wording almost interchangeably. If you want the shorter naming explainers, see our pages on 1Z0-771 meaning and what 1Z0-771 stands for. This article is the full orientation: what the exam is, what it tests, what it costs, and what is still unknown.
The credential is aimed at working or aspiring APEX developers. It is not a database administration exam, a generic cloud exam or a general programming test. Every topic traces back to building an APEX application: pages, regions, reports, forms, dynamic behavior, security, deployment and a few newer capabilities such as workflows and generative AI.
Why the Code Causes Confusion
The string "1Z0-771" is not unique across the internet. Several unrelated credentials and older exam catalogs have used the same acronym, and some third-party study sites mix them together or blend 1Z0-770 and 1Z0-771 into one course. Public vendor pages also disagree with each other on question counts, passing scores, testing providers and credential validity.
On this site, every fact comes from Oracle's own exam page, store listing and certification pages, and anything Oracle has not published is labeled as unknown rather than guessed.
Exam Format and Logistics at a Glance
| Item | What Oracle publishes |
|---|---|
| Credential | Oracle APEX Cloud Developer Professional (1Z0-771) |
| Issuer | Oracle Corporation; administered by Oracle University |
| Number of questions | 50 (scored/unscored split not disclosed) |
| Question format | Multiple choice |
| Duration | 90 minutes |
| Passing score | 68% |
| Delivery | Proctored online through Oracle MyLearn |
| Published U.S. price | US$245 for one Oracle Technology Exam Subscription attempt, six-month subscription term |
| Prerequisites | Recommended training is optional; Oracle recommends training plus hands-on experience |
| Validity period | Not established for this specific credential |
Two details deserve emphasis. First, the passing score is 68%, and Oracle does not disclose how many of the 50 questions are scored, so you cannot convert 68% into an exact number of correct answers. Second, the 90-minute limit is the written exam time. The 18-hour-plus duration listed on Oracle's related training course is a training length and has nothing to do with the exam timer. For a deeper treatment, read our guides to the 1Z0-771 passing score and 1Z0-771 requirements.
What the Exam Covers: The 19 Official Topics
Oracle's exam page lists 19 objective headings. Oracle does not publish percentage weights for them, so any site that claims a precise "highest-weighted domain" is inventing a number. Treat all 19 as fair game and plan to be competent across the whole list. Our complete guide to all 19 content areas goes further; here is the orientation.
Foundations: environment, data and application structure
Domains 1-3: Getting Started, SQL Workshop and Creating an Application
These topics establish where you work and what you build on.
- Getting Started with Oracle APEX on the Oracle Autonomous Database: workspaces, the development environment and how APEX sits on top of the database.
- Using SQL Workshop: browsing and creating database objects and running SQL, since nearly everything in APEX reads or writes data.
- Creating an APEX Application: the application creation workflow and the components generated for you.
Building pages, reports and forms
Domains 4-7: Pages, Regions, Reports, Forms and Page Controls
This is the core of day-to-day APEX development and the area where hands-on practice pays off most.
- Managing Pages and Regions: how pages are composed of regions and how layout is controlled.
- Developing Reports: classic and interactive-style reporting and how report attributes behave.
- Creating and Using Forms: forms built on tables and the data-entry patterns around them.
- Creating Application Page Controls: items, buttons and the attributes that govern them.
Logic, navigation and data
Domains 8-10: Computations, Processes, Validations, Branches, Navigation and Data
These topics cover what happens when a user submits a page and how users move between pages.
- Adding Computations, Processes, Validations and Branches: understand the order of page processing and where each element fires.
- Implementing Navigation in your Application: menus, lists, breadcrumbs and navigation structures.
- Managing Application Data: how application data is stored, shared and manipulated.
Presentation, extensibility and security
Domains 11-15: Themes, Extending Capabilities, Security, Additional Pages, Dynamic Actions and Plug-ins
Here the exam moves from basic construction to polish and control.
- Using Themes and Theme Styles: how appearance is managed centrally rather than page by page.
- Extending Application Capabilities: adding functionality beyond the generated defaults.
- Implementing Security in your Application: authentication, authorization and protecting application components.
- Adding Additional Pages to your Application: adding page types after the initial build.
- Creating and Using Dynamic Actions and Plug-ins: client-side behavior without hand-written event wiring, and reusable plug-in components.
Deployment and newer platform features
Domains 16-19: Migration, Workflows and Tasks, Generative AI and Progressive Web Apps
The final four headings reflect the modern APEX feature set.
- Migrating Application Development Between Environments: moving applications between development, test and production.
- Managing Workflows and Tasks: modeling business processes and human tasks inside APEX.
- Leveraging Generative AI in Oracle APEX: using AI-related capabilities from within an application.
- Creating Progressive Web Apps: installable, app-like experiences from an APEX application.
Key Takeaway
The last four domains are the ones most likely to be skipped by candidates who learned APEX years ago. Workflows, generative AI and progressive web apps are newer features, so people with older APEX experience should schedule dedicated lab time for them rather than assuming prior knowledge carries over.
Which APEX Version Matters
An Oracle APEX blog post on the current learning path, displayed with a date of 19 June 2025, identifies 1Z0-771 as validated on Oracle APEX 24.2. No separately dated 2026 exam blueprint was verified, so 24.2 is the best version-level anchor available. Some public study resources reference APEX 23.2, so check which release a resource targets before relying on screenshots or menu paths.
One wrinkle: that same blog calls two courses "prerequisites" in one place and "recommended training" in another. Oracle's current exam page marks recommended training as optional, and we give that explicit wording precedence. Practically, formal coursework is not a hard gate, but hands-on experience is strongly advised.
Registering, Paying and Sitting the Exam
Purchase mechanics
Oracle sells exam access through its Oracle Technology Exam Subscription. The published U.S. price is US$245 for one attempt, with a six-month subscription term, and Oracle's U.S. store explicitly includes Oracle APEX. Two caveats: we did not verify an exact-code checkout total, taxes or separate member and nonmember rates, and the six-month term describes the subscription, not how long your credential stays valid. Earlier first-attempt promotions, including a free-attempt offer that ended 15 May 2025, are not current pricing. See our 1Z0-771 certification cost breakdown for detail.
Online proctoring rules
The exam is proctored online. Oracle's preparation instructions describe the conditions you must meet:
- A personal computer with reliable internet, a webcam and a microphone.
- A matching government-issued ID.
- A private, quiet room, with check-in starting 30 minutes early.
- No books or other reference materials, mobile devices, headphones or virtual backgrounds.
- No outside assistance and no pen or paper; Oracle provides a digital whiteboard instead.
Cancellation or rescheduling must occur at least 24 hours before your appointment. We did not verify an adaptive format or a separate calculator allowance, so do not assume either. Timing questions are covered in 1Z0-771 exam dates and scheduling.
Who Should Take It and Who Hires for the Skills
The credential suits APEX developers, database developers moving toward low-code work, and consultants who build APEX applications for clients. It is also a structured way for a newer developer to prove breadth across the platform. On the hiring side, Oracle itself posts APEX Developer roles on its careers site, which confirms employer demand for the underlying skills. Salary aggregators also publish role-based pay data for Oracle APEX developers. The important distinction is that this data describes the job, not holders of this certification. We found no evidence that the credential alone causes a pay increase, so we do not quote salary figures here. For the full discussion, see the 1Z0-771 salary guide, the 1Z0-771 jobs page and the worth-it analysis.
The honest framing: the certification is evidence of structured competence, and hands-on project experience remains what employers weigh most heavily.
A Domain-Based Preparation Sequence
Because Oracle publishes no weights, a balanced plan beats a clever one. Sequence the domains so each builds on the last, and spend lab time rather than reading time wherever APEX is hands-on. Below is one sensible ordering; adjust it to your own gaps. For a longer plan, read the 1Z0-771 study guide.
Environment, SQL Workshop and first application
- Create a workspace on an Autonomous Database and explore the builder.
- Build tables in SQL Workshop and generate a starter application (Domains 1-3).
Pages, reports, forms and controls
- Rebuild pages by hand rather than relying on wizards (Domains 4-7).
- Practice differences between report types and form behaviors.
Logic, navigation, data, themes and security
- Trace page processing order across computations, validations, processes and branches (Domain 8).
- Configure navigation, themes and authorization schemes (Domains 9-13).
Dynamic actions, deployment and newer features
- Build dynamic actions and a simple plug-in (Domain 15).
- Export and import an application between environments (Domain 16).
- Lab workflows, generative AI features and a progressive web app (Domains 17-19).
Finish by sitting timed practice sets with the same constraints as the real exam: 50 questions, 90 minutes, no references. Our 1Z0-771 practice tests are built for exactly that, and the 1Z0-771 cheat sheet works as a final review. If you are weighing effort, how hard the 1Z0-771 exam is gives a realistic view of difficulty.
What Oracle Has Not Published
Being clear about gaps matters as much as stating facts, especially in a niche where vendor sites routinely claim certainty they do not have.
- Population pass rate: not disclosed in the official sources we checked. Any specific percentage you see from a prep vendor is unverified. See what the data shows on pass rates.
- Domain weights: the 19 headings are unweighted, so no highest-weighted domain can be named.
- Scored versus unscored questions: the split within the 50 questions is not disclosed.
- Validity and renewal: an APEX-specific validity period, renewal method or continuing-education requirement was not established. Oracle's general policies for other tracks, such as 24 months for OCI, are not automatically assigned to this credential. Confirm current terms with Oracle before you plan around expiry.
- Exam retirement: a course-archive notice dated 30 October 2026 appears on Oracle's related APEX Developer Professional course. That is a training-catalog notice and does not establish that the exam is being retired.
Frequently Asked Questions
1Z0-771 is the exam code for Oracle's Oracle APEX Cloud Developer Professional certification. It tests your ability to build, secure and deploy applications with Oracle APEX. More naming background is on our what is 1Z0-771 certification page.
The exam has 50 multiple-choice questions and a 90-minute written duration. Oracle does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored, and the passing score is 68%.
No. Oracle's current exam page lists recommended training as optional and recommends Oracle training plus hands-on experience. No mandatory education, experience hours or references are listed.
Oracle's U.S. store lists the Oracle Technology Exam Subscription at US$245 for one attempt with a six-month subscription term, and it explicitly includes Oracle APEX. Taxes and member versus nonmember rates were not verified, so confirm the total at checkout.
Oracle's learning-path blog identifies 1Z0-771 as validated on Oracle APEX 24.2, though no separately dated 2026 blueprint was verified. Practice in a current APEX environment and confirm details on Oracle's exam page.