1Z0-771 logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

1Z0-771 Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify

TL;DR
  • No quantified mandatory education, experience hours or training hours are listed on Oracle's current 1Z0-771 exam page.
  • Oracle training is optional; hands-on APEX experience is strongly recommended.
  • The exam is 50 multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes, with a 68% passing score.
  • Delivery is proctored online through Oracle University and Oracle MyLearn; check in 30 minutes early with matching government ID.

The Short Answer: Who Can Sit the Exam

If you are searching for the "requirements" of the Oracle APEX Cloud Developer Professional (1Z0-771) exam, the most important finding is a reassuring one: Oracle's current exam page does not list a mandatory degree, a minimum number of years of experience, a required number of training hours or professional references. There is no formal gate that blocks you from booking the exam.

That does not mean the exam is easy to walk into cold. Oracle recommends both Oracle training and hands-on experience, and the exam is multiple choice but tests applied knowledge of building real APEX applications. This article separates what you are formally required to do (very little) from what you practically need to be able to do (quite a lot). If you are new to the credential itself, our explainer What Is 1Z0-771? covers the identity and purpose of the exam before you dig into eligibility.

Identity check: In this article, 1Z0-771 refers only to Oracle APEX Cloud Developer Professional, administered by Oracle University. The same exam code string is sometimes confused with unrelated credentials in third-party prep material, so treat any source that mentions a different issuer, different fees or a different exam body with suspicion.

Prerequisites: Resolving Oracle's Conflicting Wording

Here is a detail most prep sites gloss over. Two Oracle sources describe preparation differently:

  • The current Oracle MyLearn exam page marks recommended training as optional and recommends Oracle training plus hands-on experience.
  • An older Oracle APEX blog post on the learning path (displayed date 19 June 2025) refers to two courses as "prerequisites" in one place and as "recommended training" later.

Which should you trust? The exam page is the authoritative, current statement of exam policy, so the practical reading is that training is optional and not a gate. The blog's inconsistent language is best understood as informal wording in a learning-path article rather than an enforced registration rule. Still, if you want certainty, check the exam page again when you book, since Oracle can update it at any time.

Requirement TypeStatus for 1Z0-771
Formal education (degree)None listed
Minimum years of experienceNone listed
Mandatory training hoursNone listed; training is marked optional
Professional referencesNone listed
Recommended preparationOracle training plus hands-on APEX experience
Prior Oracle certificationNone listed on the exam page

What Oracle Actually Requires of You on Exam Day

While eligibility is open, the exam-day conditions are strict. The exam is delivered as a proctored online test, so your environment is effectively part of the requirements. According to the supplied Oracle logistics, you need:

  • A personal computer with a reliable internet connection.
  • A webcam and microphone.
  • A government-issued ID whose name matches your registration.
  • A private, quiet room.
  • Check-in 30 minutes before your appointment.

Equally important are the prohibitions. No books or other reference materials, no mobile devices, no headphones, and no virtual backgrounds. Oracle's current exam-preparation instructions also prohibit outside assistance and pen and paper; a digital whiteboard is provided instead. No separate calculator allowance was verified, and no adaptive format was verified.

Practical consequence: The "no pen and paper" rule matters for a technical exam. If you habitually sketch page structures or SQL on paper while thinking, practice with an on-screen scratchpad before exam day so the digital whiteboard doesn't feel foreign under time pressure.

The Practical Skills Baseline Behind the 19 Domains

The real prerequisite is competence across the 19 objective headings on Oracle's exam page. Oracle publishes these headings without percentage weights, so you cannot responsibly claim any one domain is the "most heavily tested." For a deeper walkthrough of each area, see 1Z0-771 Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 19 Content Areas. Here, the focus is what each cluster implies about the background you should bring.

Foundation: Environment and Data

Getting Started with Oracle APEX on the Oracle Autonomous Database; Using SQL Workshop; Managing Application Data

You should be comfortable working inside an Autonomous Database-hosted APEX workspace and using SQL Workshop to explore and shape data.

  • Basic SQL fluency: queries, joins, DML, and creating tables and views
  • Understanding how application data is stored and managed
  • Navigating the workspace and development environment confidently

Core Application Building

Creating an APEX Application; Managing Pages and Regions; Developing Reports; Creating and Using Forms; Creating Application Page Controls; Adding Additional Pages to your Application

This is the heart of day-to-day APEX development and where hands-on repetition pays off most.

  • Choosing region types and configuring their sources
  • Differences between report types and how they are configured
  • Building forms that read and write data correctly
  • Working with page items, buttons and other page controls

Logic, Navigation and Presentation

Adding Computations, Processes, Validations and Branches; Implementing Navigation in your Application; Using Themes and Theme Styles

Expect scenario-style questions on how page processing flows and how users move through an app.

  • Order of computations, validations, processes and branches during page submission
  • Navigation menus, lists and breadcrumbs
  • Theme Roller and theme style concepts

Advanced and Modern Capabilities

Extending Application Capabilities; Implementing Security in your Application; Creating and Using Dynamic Actions and Plug-ins; Migrating Application Development Between Environments; Managing Workflows and Tasks; Leveraging Generative AI in Oracle APEX; Creating Progressive Web Apps

These headings reflect the newer end of the platform. Oracle's learning-path blog identifies the exam as validated on Oracle APEX 24.2, so practise on a matching or near-matching release.

  • Authentication, authorization and related security concepts
  • Client-side behaviour with dynamic actions and plug-in awareness
  • Exporting and importing applications across environments
  • Workflow and task features, Generative AI integration and PWA installation settings

Key Takeaway

Treat the 19 headings as your true eligibility checklist. If you can honestly build, secure, extend and migrate a small APEX app end to end, you meet the practical bar, regardless of what any registration form asks.

Booking Mechanics: Subscription, Fee and Scheduling Rules

Oracle sells exam access through its Oracle Technology Exam Subscription, delivered via Oracle University and Oracle MyLearn. The published U.S. price is US$245 for one attempt, with a six-month subscription term, and Oracle's U.S. store explicitly includes Oracle APEX. Several caveats apply:

  • An exact-code 1Z0-771 checkout total, taxes and separate member or nonmember rates were not verified, so confirm the final price at checkout.
  • The six-month subscription term is the window in which you use your purchased access. It is not the validity period of the credential.
  • Oracle's earlier free first-attempt offer ended 15 May 2025 and is not current pricing. Ignore forum posts and listings that still treat it as live.

For a full price breakdown and context, read 1Z0-771 Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and for scheduling guidance see 1Z0-771 Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Scheduling rules are simple but unforgiving: cancellations and reschedules must happen at least 24 hours before your appointment. Miss that cutoff and you risk losing the slot.

Exam Format and Passing Standard

ElementVerified Detail
Questions50 (scored/unscored split not disclosed)
Duration90 minutes
FormatMultiple choice
Passing score68%
DeliveryProctored online via Oracle University / Oracle MyLearn
Population pass rateNot publicly disclosed in checked official sources

Vendors frequently disagree on these numbers, citing different question counts or different passing percentages. The values above are the ones tied to Oracle's own exam page. Be careful to distinguish the passing score (the threshold you must reach) from a pass rate (the share of all candidates who succeed). Oracle publishes the former and, in the sources checked, not the latter. Our pages on the 1Z0-771 passing score and what the pass-rate data does and doesn't show go deeper on that distinction.

One more detail that surprises people: the 90-minute written exam duration is unrelated to training time. Oracle's "Oracle APEX Developer Professional" course runs about 18 hours 34 minutes, but that is course content, not the exam timer.

Validity, Renewal and What Remains Unverified

A genuine "requirement" question many candidates ask is how long the credential stays valid and how to renew it. For this specific APEX credential, an exact validity period, renewal method or continuing-education requirement was not established in the sources checked. Oracle's general guidelines mention 24-month validity for OCI and 18-month for Cloud Applications, but those policies are not automatically assigned to the APEX credential, and you should not assume they apply.

Why this matters: Several third-party sites assert definite validity windows of two or three years, or "lifetime." None of that is supported by the verified Oracle sources here. Before planning a renewal strategy or promising an employer a currency date, confirm the current policy directly with Oracle at the certification guidelines page.

Similarly, you may see news that the official "Oracle APEX Developer Professional" course shows a 30 October 2026 archive notice. That is a statement about a training course, not evidence that the exam is being retired. The associated award wording on Oracle's exam page is "Oracle APEX Cloud Certified Developer Professional," while the exam itself remains the Oracle APEX Cloud Developer Professional (1Z0-771).

A Domain-Sequenced Plan to Qualify

Because there is no formal prerequisite to complete, "qualifying" really means becoming exam-ready. Use a plan that sequences domains by dependency rather than by study-habit theory. Workflows, security and migration only make sense once pages, regions and data are second nature. The schedule below is one reasonable order; for broader preparation methods see the 1Z0-771 study guide.

Week 1

Environment and Data

  • Create a workspace and explore the Autonomous Database setup
  • Practise SQL Workshop tasks and managing application data
Week 2

Build the App Skeleton

  • Create an application, pages and regions
  • Build reports and forms; add page controls
Week 3

Logic, Navigation and Look

  • Computations, processes, validations and branches
  • Navigation components, themes and theme styles
Week 4

Security and Interactivity

  • Application security concepts
  • Dynamic actions and plug-ins; extending capabilities
Week 5

Modern Features and Migration

  • Workflows and tasks, Generative AI and Progressive Web Apps
  • Moving applications between environments
Week 6

Timed Practice

  • Take full-length timed sets under 90-minute conditions
  • Revisit weak domains and confirm your exam-day setup

Once you have worked through a domain, test yourself under realistic conditions with the 1Z0-771 practice tests to find gaps before they cost you points. If you want a sense of how demanding the exam feels, How Hard Is the 1Z0-771 Exam? sets expectations honestly, and the 1Z0-771 cheat sheet is useful for a final review of the facts above.

Key Takeaway

Because training is optional, your best qualification is evidence you can do the work: a small working APEX app that touches every domain heading, built on a version close to 24.2.

Who Hires for This Skill Set

Eligibility is not only about the exam; it is also about whether the credential supports the career you want. Oracle itself advertises APEX Developer roles, and an Oracle careers listing is public evidence of the kinds of skills employers ask for. Role-level salary pages exist for APEX developers, but they describe the job, not certificate holders, and no source here shows that holding 1Z0-771 alone causes a pay increase. For that reason, this article does not quote salary figures. If you are weighing the investment, our ROI analysis and salary guide treat those limits carefully, and 1Z0-771 jobs looks at the roles that use these skills.

The sensible framing: the certificate documents breadth across the 19 domains, while your portfolio and project experience demonstrate depth. Employers hiring APEX developers typically care about both.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need a degree or prior Oracle certification to take 1Z0-771?

No. Oracle's current exam page lists no mandatory degree, minimum experience, required training hours or prior certification. It recommends Oracle training and hands-on experience, but these are recommendations rather than entry gates.

Is Oracle training required before I can register?

The current exam page marks recommended training as optional. An older Oracle blog post used "prerequisites" for two courses, creating a wording conflict, but the exam page takes precedence. Confirm on the page when you book.

What do I need for the online proctored exam?

A personal computer with reliable internet, webcam, microphone, matching government-issued ID and a private quiet room. Check in 30 minutes early. No reference materials, mobile devices, headphones, virtual backgrounds or pen and paper are allowed; a digital whiteboard is provided.

How many questions and what score do I need?

The exam has 50 multiple-choice questions, a 90-minute time limit and a 68% passing score. Oracle does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored, and no official population pass rate was found.

How long does the certification stay valid?

An APEX-specific validity period or renewal requirement was not established in the sources checked. Oracle's general OCI and Cloud Applications policies should not be assumed to apply, so verify the current policy with Oracle before relying on any figure.

In short, qualifying for 1Z0-771 is less about meeting a checklist of formal prerequisites and more about demonstrating real command of Oracle APEX across all 19 objective headings. Start with the verified requirements above, build hands-on skill in dependency order, and confirm any time-sensitive details directly with Oracle before you book.

Ready to pass your 1Z0-771 exam?

Put this into practice with free 1Z0-771 questions across every exam domain.